My Mother’s Ambul Thiyal 101

When we first took a young friend of ours for a sea bath and lunch to Hikkaduwa in the early 1970s, my father was surprised that the visitor was already a Professor at the University of Colombo. My father being from the earlier generation where they wanted to know the roots of the people, then put his foot-in-the mouth and asked where he came from.  Our friend nonchalantly replied Panangala. To which my father said “you must indeed be a clever man then!” referring to some obscure held view that Panangala is the abode of fools.

While I cringed, the visitor did not take offence.  He indeed was clever man and did go on to become a highly respected academic.  He was none other than Vidya Jyothi Prof. V.K. Samaranayake. Good naturedly he laughed the episode off, had his sea bath, king coconut water from my father’s famous dwarf trees, lunch with ambul thiyal and declared that it was the best ambul thiyal he had eaten.  The story didn’t end there. Many years after that, when VK visited us in Penang, he emphatically declared “Your ambul thiyal is not a patch on your mother’s!”  A niggling nugget of truth that stayed with me for a long time. I then made a mental note to watch her making it and learn from her. Of course Amma’s preparation was the best, as she bought the fish fresh off the boats or got them as gifts from neighbhouring fisher families.

Smaller versions of Tuna fish that came as gifts. Photo copyright Chulie de Silva
Smaller versions of Tuna fish that came as gifts to us recently. Photo copyright Chulie de Silva

The gifts of fish were brought by the wives of fishermen who lived nearby. Invariably the women would borrow a couple of coconuts at a time during the monsoon season, get my mother to write letters for them (some were even to Danish lovers of their daughters!), borrow some jewellry to wear for a wedding, etc. etc. They would return the favours during the fishing season with gifts of fish. A good bartering format no doubt, for which we still get paid dividends in gifts like the fish above.

To get back to the cooking and rein in my wandering thoughts — what is so special about this dish. Ambul means sour and the origin of the word “thiyal” apparently comes from Kerala – where it means a burnt dish.

Goraka in a Spode China dsih -a gift from an English friend, giraya- an old arecanut cutter, Photo of my father & mother at my cousin Ayomi Perera's wedding, the clay pot, and my grinding stone in I bought in a Penang and a woven
From the centre: Goraka in a Spode China dsih -a gift from an English friend, giraya- an old arecanut cutter, Photo of my father & mother at my cousin Ayomi Perera’s wedding, the clay pot,  my indispensable grinding stone  I bought in Penang and a woven “hambiliya” – a small Sri Lankan money purse that women use to tuck into their bosoms. Photo copyright Chulie de Silva

The essential ingredient is Goraka – Gambooge – the sundried fruit of a medium evergreen tree growing here and in some parts of Asia. The shrivelled, black acidic fruit acts as a preservative and was a way of keeping a cooked fish when there were no fridges. At our Hikkaduwa house, it is still cooked the day before an almsgiving in a huge clay pot balanced on the 3 bricks over a cinnamon stick fire.

Below is my mother’s original recipe as she showed me how to make it. She keeps ingredients minimum and simple and my notes say no cinnamon, garlic, onions, green chillies etc.  I suspect this the way she learned to cook it from  my paternal grandmother and her mother-in-law SK Pinto Hamy of Ambalangoda. Pinto Hamy might have made it for a husband KH Bastian de Silva,to take with him when he went on his business trips to the hill country in a bullock cart. Bastian was a building contractor, who is supposed to have constructed many houses for English Tea Planters, as well as the Nuwara Eliya Post office.

Ingredients & the way to do it

1 kilo tuna (Bala) fish – try to buy fresh with glistening skin and the eyes should be bright. If you open the gills under them      the colour should be red.

Goraka about 5 large pieces, soften in a little hot water and ground to a paste — should form a ball about the size of a large lime!

Black pepper ground — about the same size of the Goraka

Chillie ( about 2 tspns) ground to equal half the size of the of goraka.

Wash the grinding stone and use that water to mix the ground ingredients into a thick paste. Now, your grinding stone might very well be a blender. So use minimum amount of water to make a thick paste.

The fish pieces are arranged in one layer in the clay “chattie,” Pour the thick ground paste over the fish, add salt and one sprig of curry leaves.

Do NOT add extra water. The paste should be thick.

Remember Do not add garlic, onions, green chillies, cinnamon, tumeric etc. When you add these, it becomes another fish curry!

Place pot over a slow fire to cook. After about 5 minutes on the fire, shake the pot so the pieces do not stick to the bottom of the pan. I remember the olden days, when they used a clay pot with burning coals on top, so the fish actually got baked slowly. Now, most of us cook on gas and the top clay pot is a forgotten entity and maybe not even in the memory of most.

The end result should be pieces of fish coated with a thick black sauce.

Ambul Thiyal - Tuna fish dry cooked curry of Southern Sri Lanka. Photo copyright Chulie de Silva
Ambul Thiyal – Tuna fish dry cooked curry of Southern Sri Lanka. Photo copyright Chulie de Silva

As I was writing this my memory turned, as it does on most days to my mother.

Whenever I visited her in Hikkaduwa, she would cook ambul thiyal,a big pot of my favourite kiri hodi — the coconut milk gravy and a lentils curry for me to take back to Colombo. The last ambul thiyal she cooked for me was on the morning of the tsunami day. I still hear her voice urging me to taste the ambul thiyal as she wanted to make sure it suited my taste for low salt. We were having breakfast laughing together sharing a joke about a trick my brother Prasanna had played on me.

After the first wave, and I was trying to get her to move to higher ground she said “All the food I cooked for you so lovingly must be spoilt now?” I had patted her hand, and put my arms around her hugging her saying “Not to worry, food can always be made later, let me get you to a safer place.” At that point, she and I both didn’t know Prasanna had left us forever or the enormity of our loss.

Amma was fiercely proud of her cooking but she never went back to cooking anything after that day.

© Important: Copyright Notice

All images and text in this site is copyrighted. No material from this blog may be used without permission except as a direct reference to this site.

Text & Photographs@ Chulie de Silva

12 thoughts on “My Mother’s Ambul Thiyal 101

  1. Superb cook note that’s amply complimented with nostalgia, highlighting family ties and lot more. All the best and Chulie wish me luck I’m going try this.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Lovely story…..being from the south have had my fill of Ambul Thiyal over the years… Love to eat this with Hoppers & Kiri bath…..I am allergic to Balaya, Alagoduwa etc..from recent times. Have got over this by using Kenda [ Yellow Fin Tuna ] ,skinned, deboned, the black parts removed to make Ambul Thiyal…..

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Excellent…I can still imagine ur dad’s(Bennie Mama’s) (always)smiling face..I have posted a real tamil traditional pol sambol receipe(under Sri Lankan Cooking in Brisbane-Australia)as a Utube clip…this sambol really goes with your Ambul Thiyal !! Give it a try..I tried and it was so tasty would remember my school days “Thosai Kade” visits when we do so called “school cut” time…very similar to the sambol available in Greenlands, Punchi Borella Junction thosai kade and Sarasvathi Lodge-Wellawatte. Thx for all ur receipe posts…

    Like

  4. Ambulthiyal is my favorite though I’m a veggi from my early 20s. Yet I cook this for special occasions. Today I wanted to freshen up my recipe as I didn’t do it for some time. Went thru many, and yours is the closest to my memory and I know this will be the best most authentic way of cooking it.
    Loved your write up, and thank you for wonderful writing, as it’s something really need when all these lovely traditions are fading away from current live styles.
    So sorry to hear your families sad memory of tsunami 2004, it made me in tears at the end.

    Like

Leave a Reply

